lkakweekly.blogg.se

Open zip files on mac
Open zip files on mac









open zip files on mac

Now we want to add the path of the zip file. Instead you want to use that Unzip command dash L. Now it comes with some sample code in there. I'm going to add an Action for executing a Shell Script.

open zip files on mac

I'm going to call this View Zip Contents. So in the Shortcuts App I'm going to create a New Shortcut.

open zip files on mac

But I'm going to go with this as the command we're going to use in Shortcuts. Unfortunately it doesn't include that nice summary information at the bottom. I get the size and the date, as before, and the name of the file. But, if I use unzip with the dash L parameter and then I drag the file in, press Return, it will list the contents instead of extracting them. There's really no need to use that as I could just double click on this file and it will unzip in the Finder. Now another way to do this is to use the Unzip command which is what you would normally use to unzip a file in the Terminal. In a case like this the files are probably zipped together to easy transport. At the bottom it shows me the total the number of bytes, uncompressed, and the number of bytes compressed and the amount that zipping it all together saved. It will even tell me the number of bytes in the file and date information. Now I just hit Return here and the simple command will give me a list of everything in the Zip File. I can just drag and drop from the Finder into Terminal and it will type the path for me. You don't have to type the entire path here. With Zip Info all you need to do is have that command then put the file after it. Then there are many different ways to read the contents here. So I'm going to use Spotlight and launch the Terminal. I'm going to use the Terminal to see what is inside them. So starting off here I've got two example of zip files here. As you can do it in the Terminal you can take those terminal commands and use those in a shortcut to make it easy to do. But you can actually do it using the Terminal on your Mac. Now there are third party apps that will do this. Now while macOS allows you to easily unzip files and to create new zip files there is no easy way to view the contents of a zip file without extracting everything from it. Join us and get exclusive content and course discounts. There you can read more about the Patreon Campaign. MacMost is brought to you thanks to a great group of more than 1000 supporters. Let me show you how you can view the contents of a zip file on your Mac. Video Transcript: Hi, this is Gary with. Check out View Zip File Contents With a Shortcut on a Mac at YouTube for closed captioning and more options.











Open zip files on mac